I have had a Nikon D7100 for about a week now. So far, awesome.

fredcohiba

I have been shooting Nikon for about 10 years. First a D40x then a D300. On a lark, I bought a Nikon factory refurbished D7100 from an on line authorized Nikon dealer. So far, I think the D7100 is in another class. The pictures seem sharper, have better exposure, color and contrast and all without any fiddling of the settings. To get close to the same output in the D300, I have to adjust many of its settings.
I am really happy with this camera so far, and it will take me a month of Sundays to go through all the menus and settings and learn its operations. That being said, straight out of the box, it is magnificent.

I've been looking at this and the D7200 on you tube recently and I'm thinking about trading my Fuji Xpro1 and its three lenses (18mm,27mm and 35mm) for either one of them. I don't feel the need to have the D7200 just because it's the latest. I'm getting to really like my D3200. The reason I am trading my Fuji Xpro1 is because the zoom lenses are too expensive for me. Well, that and a bit of cad (camera aquisition disorder:D).

I started with a D3200, then my son upgraded to a D750 so he gave me his D5300 in trade for my D3200 which he is keeping as a second, crop sensor frame. I do like flip around screen in e D5300.

What glass are you all using? I've learned good photos is as much, maybe more, about the quality of the lens rather than the frame or pixel count. That said, I've gotten good results with the newer VR versions of 18-55 and 55-200 Nikon kit lenses.

Best gift I gave myself beyond the 'kit' lenses is a Nikkor 35mm f1.8 DX and a Nikkor 50mm f1.8g prime lenses. Sharp photos and 'fast' , wide apertures- shoot in low light with no flash and modest ISO. They can be bought used in good condition for around $150 each, a steal.