I need a new cart, please help

crazytubepower

Whudafxup
I have a denon LOMC the dl-303, a rare model, high-end. I am looking to go the MC route so I do not have to use a step-up transformer. What is a good cart for say $300. I was thinking about grado, but it may be too tall for my linear tracking yamaha px-3. So please your sugestions would be more than welcome! :banana:

I think you may mean MM, not MC. Unless you meant a high output MC, but your mentioning of a Grado suggests that you are interested in moving magnets. A Grado is a good idea unless you are right that it would be too tall for your arm. A Stanton 681EE or 881 might be a classic suggestion if the Grado doesn't fit.

I have no personal experience, but from what I´ve read in this forum some Grados have a tendency to hum in some decks...
Jorge

crazytubepower said:
I ment hi output mc or mm, I was looking at the sumiko's, the blue point evo, Good or not?

I own the previous Blue Point Special MkII. Just great for the price.
Jorge

Most of the comments I've heard about the BPS are either love it or hate it, not much middle ground. If you want to stick with a HOMC you might also want to consider the Benz Micro Silver, Ortofon X5-MC, and my recent choice the Dynavector 10X5. Or for a bit less money the Denon DL160 has a loyal following and the Ortofon X3-MC has gotten very good reviews. I don't know which of them would necessarily be a good match for the PX-3 and the rest of your system though.