I think I'm finished swapping ICs for awhile

Roadrash

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I picked up a couple of pairs of Kimber Kable PBJs recently, and put them in the main system. They made an immediate and very noticeable improvement. I've been playing around with cables for about 6 months or so to see if I could actually hear a difference, and yes I can. There have been some that were barely noticeable, and some ''holy crap what a difference!'' moments.
First were AQ Evergreens. My very first 'better' cables, and a big step up from throw in cables.
Next came a pair of NOS AQ Diamondbacks to go from the pre to the mono blocks. Sounded nice but the connectors sucked.
Next was a pair made with Van Damme wire and supposed WBT connectors, because I wanted locking RCAs after a curios dog knocked one of the Diamondbacks out of the L-09ms while it was on.(got real lucky there) Not a fan of this one. I think it was let down by the connectors, they sounded very veiled compared to the Diamondbacks.
Next came Furez cable with Furez siver locking RCAs. Now we're talking! I put a 1 foot pair between the CDP and pre, and a 3 foot pair between the pre and amps. Very nice overall sound, nicely balanced.
Next came some Better Cables Silver Serpents. Once again sounded very nice, and certainly different than the Furez cables. I listened to them for a few months and went back to the Furez cables.
Picked up a couple of pairs of PBJs off of ebay last week, .5 meter and 1 meter, and installed them into the main system when they got here. WOW! They just sound incredible. I picked them up just to try a little brand matching with the 8TCs that I had picked up previously just for grins. They opened up the mids and highs without sounding bright or harsh, and everything just sounds better to me. I think I can live with this setup for quite awhile.