I'm a total NOOB!!

steamshooter

Yamaha K-950. It can play for hours without a prob, or it might take twenty mins. It sounds like a really dirty pot that's being turned. This is in left channel only. My little non-technical brain is saying bad solder joint somewhere. Am I off base here? How do I identify a bad joint? Last nite it played about six hours before acting up, this AM, it's fine. What types of questions should I be trying to answer to narrow down the culprit?
Start with the left output jack and work my way back to the head?
Any suggestions would be helpfull and appreciated.
Thanks
Brad:dunno:

What happens when your turn the volume pot? Does it sound O.K.? Perhaps the pot is performing badly.

Finding a bad solder requires a good magnifying glass and lots of patience. Bad solders tend to show cracks and look opaque whereas good solders look smooth and shiny. You'll need a good soldering iron to fix them.
Good luck,

Willysan

I find both a hot air gun and a can of freeze spray very useful tools in locating intermittent connections and marginal components.

Rob

The volume is actually a slider. I don't hear any noise in it at all. It's been cleaned and re-cleaned. It makes no difference where the slider is positioned it still crackles. Usually two or three slight crackles and then it just goes nuts. There seems to be a pattern to it. Even with the output turned down I can still see the "noise" on the left meter. It makes no difference if there's a tape in or not. The noise only occures in "play" mode. Sitting idle it's as quiet as a mouse.

How are the hot air gun and freeze spray used?

Yesterday, nary a sound all day-go figure.
Thanks for the help, keep the ideas coming.
Brad