Inexpensive & Simple Vintage Receivers for Practice

Luca Signore

Hey all -

I'd love to hear some of your suggestions for some vintage receivers that I could purchase for practice with regards to things like cleaning pots/switches, testing and replacing caps, and general maintenance. I recently got an SX-950 that I'd love to eventually do some work on, but I want something cheaper and simpler to practice on since I'm completely new to this. Bonus points if it sounds decent so I can keep it for my classroom or garage!

Thanks!

LOL ... that is a Slam Dunk as far as I am concerned a JVC SR 100/200 or 201! And they ... still look, uh "different??" But they sound great and are seriously undervalued and under appreciated! I got my first JVC 200 ... despite it's looks! But it was cheap 35 bucks??? And I saw them new back in the day and back then ... they looked uh weird?? But now .. they look kinda cool! I luv it and I want to get more! :)

LOL ... that is a Slam Dunk as far as I am concerned a JVC SR 100/200 or 201! And they ... still look, uh "different??" But they sound great and are seriously undervalued and under appreciated! I got my first JVC 200 ... despite it's looks! But it was cheap 35 bucks??? And I saw them new back in the day and back then ... they looked uh weird?? But now .. they look kinda cool! I luv it and I want to get more! :)

I recently recapped my JR-S301, and I'm not sure that series is a good first choice. The slider controls take up a lot of real estate, and in some cases block access to desolder capacitors on the tone control board. I can't speak for the other models of the range, but I will say on the 301, you can't easily get to the bottom of the main amplifier board-- you have to swing it out in an awkward way to get to the capacitors. The x00 series are quite different internally-- the power amplifier section is on a socketed card-- and may be easier to disassemble.