Infinity Kappa 8, Need advice

SansuiFlorida

I normally hang out on the Sansui Forum. I've been looking at upgrading my speakers. Someone local has a pair of Kappa 8s in excellent condition. The only thing is the woofers were replaced by a high end local audio shop with a higher quality woofer. "what they said" was an upgraded woofer, Lexon. They want $600 for em. I know these things would be expensive to ship if bought on ebay. I'll be driving them with a Sansui CA 3000 and BA 3000. I would probably Bi amp with two BA 3000s.

Appreciate anyone's recommendation about should I go for these speakers. I have zero experience with Infinity speakers.

Thanks
Mike

Mike,
I personaly would pass. First off, as we all know a loudspeaker is a balanced instrument. Folks, replacing parts with so called better parts nine times out of ten have no clue as to why they even think that it is a 'better' part. Kappa 8's are vintage loudspeakers from 1987 to 1989. It has a particular sound. It was designed as a system. I would pass on these. Others may feel differently of course.

If you want some nice original equipment Kappas, they will not be difficult to find on Ebay for example. Browse these pages for more information on Kappa's if you are interested: http://www.infinity-classics.de/infinity/models/Kappa-series-1987/index-Kappa.htm

Vito

Hi Mike,

$600 for a pair of modified Kappa 8's.
I would say no :no: .

If they had the original drivers, I think $600 is still high.
You live in the US, you are lucky that there are PLENTY of quality speakers for you to choose from.
Keep an eye out, and I am sure you can do better for $600. (even if you had to pay shipping from another state)

I have a pair of Kappa 7's...... they are great!!
a pair of Kappa 8's or 9's are on my "to buy" list.

Happy Hunting!! :thmbsp:
Mark

Hmmm... "replaced"??? Now, what does that mean, exactly?