Infinity SM115 with Boston Acoustic CR7 ?

CDELON

Hello, I'm new to audio karma. I'm a novice, interested in increasing my knowledge from those who have more in depth knowledge. I have been switching out speakers and speaker combinations for years. I was using SM 115 Infinity speakers with my system. Love the speakers, but always sensed something missing in there sound. Out of curiosity, I would add speakers to channel B to hear the blend. I tried JBL, KEF, Polk and Klipsch book shelf size speakers and could not find the missing link in the sound of my SMs. By chance, I picked up a pair of Boston Acoustic CR7s and added them and there it was. They filled the voids and the gaps. I'm amazed that I am hearing things and sounds like never before. The SMs were always clear. But there is a crispness to everything now. Even the lows were enhanced even from the smaller speakers.Listening to the BAs themselves, there is something missing. Same as I felt with the SMs themselves. The combo does it.
I understand everyone ear for sound is a personal thing.

Is there anyone out there that can explain how this combo works so well together?

Hello, and welcome to AudioKarma!

After owning, and modding the crap out of, a pair of SM152 Infinity's, I had to finally let them go.

Let your ears revel in the new sound. Enjoy it, despite what others will inevitably say.

You're having fun. Once you do not, then pursue some newer speakers. Or not.

There are no rules, and I suspect that the two speakers simply compliment each other.

Glad to have you aboard.

P.s. I'd remove the woofers on those Infinitys, strengthen the boxes with some wooden dowels front to back, and perhaps add a bit more fiberfill. Again, or not. Good luck!

Welcome to Audiokarma CDELON!

The SM 115's were the first pair of Infinity speakers I had ever heard. These speakers are what truly made me pursue vintage Infinity speakers.