Is there a value in this auction gear?

opusarlo

I am attending an estate auction of a local family today. He was an audiophile, but he died about 10 years ago. it looks like they are just getting around to selling some of his gear. I am sure it still works, but man is it ever dusty. I would have it all professionally refurbed, but I am very new to the audiophile scene and am unsure how much cost I could incur refurbishing these items. Here are the contents of the lot:

McIntosh C-22 preamplifier
McIntosh MR - 71 Tuner
McIntosh 240 amplifier
Elac miracord turntable

Several thousand dollars there.
I guess I am most curious about how much it might set me back to have it all refurbished. Right now, I have set $2000 as my bid limit. If the refurbishing costs more than that, though, I will certainly have a frowny face.

I guess I am most curious about how much it might set me back to have it all refurbished. Right now, I have set $2000 as my bid limit. If the refurbishing costs more than that, though, I will certainly have a frowny face.
Depends on what service needs to be done to the gear but full restoration could certainly run $2000 or more for the gear.

those are not the words I want to hear...shoot. I will just play it by ear then. I need to also take into consideration how this would limit my selection of speakers. After following this forum for a long time, I had pretty much come to the conclusion I would be getting an SX 1250 and run some KLH's. WIth this gear, I would likely have to step up to something nicer like Khorns or Legacy, and that squeezes my budget. Maybe I need to calm down a bit. How much better could the sound from this system be than from the sx 1250? (Easy please if that was a dumb question)