Is this capacitor checker decent?

ChrisAZ

I’m new to this subject so bear with me. I ordered some NOS Russian PIO, Teflon and silver/mica capacitors for some speaker crossover experiments and I’d like to be able to test the uf rating and ESR.

Last edited:
I've had pretty bad luck with this class of instrument. You might benefit from stepping up to something like the DE-5000 from DER EE (also on eBay). It has more of the functionality of a lab type LCR bridge, including D (dissipation factor) and Q (quality factor) measurements, alternate test frequencies, etc. You won't know the value of these things right away, but it's not difficult to find good tutorial information online.

The more you spend on a Z meter the better accuracy you get. Some of the older test equipment works well after some refurbishment is done.

Thanks for the recommendations I’ve been reading through a lot of threads on the subject and was hoping (possibly unrealistically) to find something cheap that would get me by. If I’m going to spend more than $50 I’ll probably wait and save up a little for something in the $100-150 range. I love the look of those old ones with the magic eye tubes! What do you think is the best bang for your buck vintage unit? Will the vintage units measure ESR or something that can be easily converted to ESR?