Is this "normal" - delay when powering up a 2330B receiver

Snade

humble AK member
I searched for past discussion on this on AK but did not find anything.

When I push in the power button on my Marantz 2330B there is a one second delay, then a click (seems to come from the back), and then the sound can be heard from the speakers (in this case a talk radio station).

Here is a video (turn up the sound to hear the click).

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-9048746194673584680

Is this a normal start-up for the 2330B ?

Thanks. Snade

Most vintage units do this. My small Marantz (2238) does it. All three of my yammies do it. I'm no techie, but I understand it has something to do with the protection relay.

BTW, great use of video for diagnostics.

the reason it does that its the speaker relay protection so when u power up ur system in case there is a surge it doesnt fry ur speaker outputs

It's normal assuming you have the radio selected. If you have a different input selected and you're hearing voices than it's proably just posessed.

willyrover said:
It's normal assuming you have the radio selected. If you have a different input selected and you're hearing voices than it's proably just posessed.

This made me laugh. Thanks for the responses.

Snade.

Ever turn on (or off) a piece of equipment and hear a loud POP burst from your speakers when you did? Besides being unpleasant, that "pop" may contain enough dc voltage/loud low tones to permanently damage a speaker. That's why most decent older gear has a delay or "protection cycle". That clicking sound you hear is a relay clicking on, to send the output to the speakers after everything is on and the "pop" phase has passed.