Issues streaming from phone

Mark_Riley

Hello AK, been happily lurking here until now. I have a streaming question. I am relatively new to vintage audio. I have a MR78, C34v, and Mc2125 that I recently acquired from another AK member. My issue is that when I connect my samsung s8+ phone to an input on the C34v (not phono) there is about a 60% reduction in both volume and sound quality. Using spotify premium, and a 3.5mm to 2RCA for the connection. Have tried 2 other phones, and used all of the C34v inputs, all with the same results. Tried the samsung and same hookup cables on 2 more modern receivers and had no issues at all with volume/quality. I was hoping someone here would see this and offer some/any advice!
Don't know if a DAC is a solution. I would love to be able to stream wireless if possible, providing sound wasn't too compromised. Thanks.

Sounds like you need a streaming device.

In my family room system, mx112 and mc250, I had the same issue and the sound quality was meh with a phone - 3.5 to rca. I went the streaming route also and purchased the Node 2i. Solved both issues, sound quality and loudness. Got another for the basement system. It streams through WiFi. It also frees up your cell phone too and you can control everything with an app depending on which streamer you go with.

**Actually after reading your post over, it’s hard to say if there is a difference of inputs, vintage vs modern preamps.

Last edited: