Itunes music to old stereo system

GregWyld

Hi, I'm a newbie from Melbourne, Aust. with a tech question. I've already posted this on the Introductions forum and have been told to repost it here.

I don't have any tech background or training. Listening to music is one of the joys in my life and I'm not necessarily into HI FI tech stuff but if need be then I'm happy to go there.

I got this idea that it would be cool to rip all our CD's to Itunes and play them through my 20 year old stereo system. Providing quality wasn't TOO compromised...

So what I did was I put about 30GB of Itunes music on a 750GB external hard drive and connected that to a Toshiba Satellite P3 laptop with a USB lead (unfortunately the laptop USB ports are the older slower type, USB 1.0). I then connected the laptop to the AUX red/white pots on the stereo amp (Pioneer 400W SA 606, it’s old but still pumping out CD sourced music very nicely, both channels quite clean) with RCA leads from the laptop’s headphone jack, which happens to be right along side the USB ports on the back panel of the laptop and when the 3.5mm headphone plug with built in splitter to stereo RCA pots is plugged in it presses against the body of the USB plugs (one for external HD and one for the mouse). Whether this is causing a minor EMF interference to the sound signal travelling through headphone jack I don’t know, but they can’t be prevented from touching each other.