KA-3500 blowing fuse

Stink Bear

I just acquired a KA-3500, the previous owner said that it keeps blowing fuses.
I took the cover off and looked around, there has been something spilled in it at least once.
I did a little cleaning so I could see the components better, I don't see anything that looks burnt.
I used an ohmmeter on diode function to check the output transistors, I am getting different readings
between the same transistors on the different channels. One transistor seems to be shorted. Since
this was done with the transistors in circuit and I am new at this I'm not sure what to do next. I think I
should pull the board, remove the transistors and check them.
I'm wondering if there is anything else I could or should do before I start taking the board out. I
considered putting in a fuse and powering it up on a DBT to see if it might stay powered on and work
long enough to isolate to one channel but I think I could also cause more damage doing that.
Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Brett

I am not an expert but i would pull the transistors out of circuit to test them. Do you have a schematic ? If not I highly recommend you get one. I have a hobby electronics shop with test equipment up to and including an o-scope. I have gained my expertise from the burn-em up and try again school of electronics. A DMT is a great idea if you have the schematic. One word of caution about replacing parts is it has been the experience of myself and others that labeling orientations and pin positions and cross referenced replacement parts with markers or tape will save you from hours of frustration. When checking board components be methodical and write down observed values so when circuits change you will know it. And only replace two or three components at a time, then test your work / circuit before moving on.
You definetly have a dead short some where but I am not much help unless I can see a schematic which I may look for. Hopefully I can be a little helpful.