KA-7300 refurb dissapointment

dbarr76

Hi all. I'm looking for some help with my Kenwood KA-7300. I bought it recently at a record store, in great condition. Had it for literally one day and it totally quit working. The guy at the store offered to have it refurbished for me for $275. The piece is so nice and sounded so good that I agreed...When I got it back, it sounded really good. Plays loud and clear...But it just doesn't have the "tone" it had previously. Here's the thing: I'm new to the hobby, but have always been a music lover and the sounds I got out of that thing previously were unlike anything I'd ever heard in my life. There was a certain warmth and overall musicality to it, and the soundstage and detail was huge. Anyway, I can't imagine that for the cost of the refurb, the main caps used were very expensive. Would replacing the main caps with something more high end help the situation? I had read good things about Nichicon Super Through caps and was going to spend $100 on four through partsconnexion.com, but the repair guy I've since contacted, said they are the wrong size...Any advice? What about the preamp caps or any other super "critical to the sound" caps in there? Don't get me wrong, I've been very happy with the unit and it sounds really good...I'm just lusting for that magical sound back. I had never heard my music sound like that before the refurb. Thanks in advance

For $275, it is doubtful that he did a full restoration. I don't really know what a refurbishment means, but you should probably find out exactly what he did. That will help us to at least make better guesses as to why the amp sounds so different.

Unfortunately, one possibility is that out of spec components in the unit were giving it the sound you liked...in which case the update/refurb may have actually been a bad thing, at least for you.

However, in my experience, the effect of a good restoration on sound quality is either neutral, or beneficial....not negative.