Kenwood Basic C2 - Help me understand!

Jstorres

I just bought a C2 amp over the weekend in my quest to get back into vinyl. It sounds great but there are things I don't understand. I found the manual from a posting here on AK but I can't make sense of "Turnover" and "Filter" switches. If some one could please look at the attached picture and try to explain this in simple English, I would be very grateful. I am very new to this so any advice helps.

If you own one, what settings do you like? I only want to use you it to listen to records. Also, what would be the best "source" setting I should use.

Thanks,
Steve

Attachments

• Basic6.jpg
    Basic6.jpg
    90 KB · Views: 91
  • amp.jpg
    amp.jpg
    100.6 KB · Views: 82
I've got a Basic C2 preamp and love it, especially for its phono preamp. That manual, however, is poorly written/translated, and also contains some errors (e.g. the High filter attenuates frequencies ABOVE 8 KHz, not below).

I suggest you do a little research about preamplifiers in general, so you will understand about tape monitor settings, tone controls, why a phono input is different from other sources, etc. But here are answers to your specific questions:

- Turnover controls set the frequency range that the bass or treble controls will affect. If you set the bass turnover at 200 Hz and turn the bass knob, you will be affecting relatively low frequencies only. If you set the bass turnover to 400 Hz, you're still affecting the bass but the effect will reach higher, affecting the lower midrange as well. Put on some music and just give these settings a try. You will hear the difference. The treble turnover has the same choice: affect just the higher treble, or reach down and affect the upper midrange as well.