Kenwood KA-305 - Lost Left Channel suddenly

Discussion in 'Kenwood-Trio/Kensonic-Accuphase' started by whosnotwo, May 30, 2018.

1. whosnotwo

whosnotwo New Member

Hi. I was listening to my KA 305 over the weekend. It had been running fine when all of a sudden, i heard a loud pop and the left channel went out. I switched the speakers to make sure it wasn't that. They both work from the right channel only. I hoped it was just a fuse, but those are fine.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Can someone guide me towards troubleshooting and fixing this?

Please register to disable this ad.

2. whosnotwo

whosnotwo New Member

Is nobody able to help out here? Did i post in the wrong forum?

3. mikepick

mikepick New Member

I am by no means an expert, but the first steps are to narrow down where the problem might have occurred. Does the problem affect all inputs? Have you tried listening through headphones? How about taking a signal out of the Tape Out and putting it though another amplifier (which admittedly doesn't tell you much but it's a starting point.)

4. whosnotwo

whosnotwo New Member

Hi, thank you for the reply. I already did the tests you suggested. All inputs and outputs are affected. I have not tried tape out to another amp tho. I'll give that a shot.

5. rickl

rickl Member

have you measured the speaker binding posts on the broken channel? if v+, you have blown outputs. If 10-30mV, you are good.

have you cleaned all the switches?

i did see there are a few threads on the ka-305 here. not sure if they will help since i didn't read them closely.

6. mikepick

mikepick New Member

Tape Out will probably have a good signal, but I think it doesn't do much before output there so it won't really help diagnose the problem, but it will give you hope. :)