Kenwood KR-5600 about replacing 7500uf-50v filter caps?

tusntuk2

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
About to do a full recap of a Kenny KR-5600, but I wonder if I can bump up the main filter caps a bit? The original 7500uf 50v have lots of modern replacements with screw term's or rather high prices, none of which I want. I found some 8200uf 80v snap-ins that would seem to work, but since I'm a newbie some confirmation or some better ideas would really be helpful. The new caps are at Mouser, 661-ESMH800N822MA45S or 647-LLS1K822MELC. Anyone have experience with these? Thanks in advance!

I've used the UCC SMH series in two Yamaha CA-1000 refurbs. Happy with the results. Ordered a few more.

Apologies, not familiar with the KR-5600, I would be trying to squeeze in Nichicon KW 10000uf/50V, my standard cap for mid sized
items. Should be ok with +/-38V from rectifier. Just finished a refurb on a KA-7100, used 4x10000/50 KW's. Nice amp. Note the KW
is leeds not snap in/screw/... You've just started another cap debate...

That small of an increase won't make any difference. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if the LLS 8200uf caps read at the lower end of their +/- 20% tolerance and wind up being below 7500.