1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

KR-7070 restoration main amp & fm tuner

Discussion in 'Kenwood-Trio/Kensonic-Accuphase' started by avataar, Apr 30, 2018.

1. avataar

avataar New Member

Hello! AK newbie here looking for advice on restoring a KR-7070. I got it on eBay and the only thing I knew was that it powered up. The unit is in lovely cosmetic condition with an ok-ish plywood case. All switches are snappy and the glass is virtually scratch-free.

After unboxing I tried it out and I only got sound on the right channel. It sounded lovely. The left one appeared to be completely dead. Firstly I discovered a shorted emitter-collector on the power transistor Q2 (2SC898) and I thought that'd be all but it turned out there was more damage on the main amp board. The obvious was a couple of very crisply fried or cracked resistors (Re33, Re43, Re45, Re47), while the not so obvious was an opened transistor Qe9 (2SA566). All other transistors passed a basic test with a multimeter without unsoldering anything, including Qe7, which is right next to crispy resistors. I marked all failed components with a red dot on the schematics and a couple of never-installed resistors with a blue dot.

Interestingly, the schematics gives Qe7-8 as 2SC484Y and Qe9-10 as 2SA484Y but the installed transistors are 2SC680 and 2SA566. There's also an extra 120 kohm resistor between the base of Qe12 and the emitter of Qe14 that isn't on the schematics. As far as I can tell it appears to have come like that from the factory. The resistors Re43 and Re44 are also a bit of a puzzle as the schematics says 33 ohm each but colour-decoding Re44 gives me a 68 ohm one. Re43 was probably the same but it it's too discoloured to tell.