KT120 Amp build

kward

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Thread Index
  1. Post #1: General discussion of design goals, circuit topology, and improvements
  2. Post #238: Build schematic
  3. Post #278: Bill of Materials
  4. Post #343: Chassis layout
  5. Post #351: Construction & Testing
  6. Post #454: Measurements and Tuning
  7. Post #499: Final schematic with 12AX7 input
  8. Post #521: Final schematic with 5751 input

On this thread I intend to document the build for a 60 watt per channel KT120-based amplifier. I want to try the KT120 tube because I've never used it before, and everything I read about it indicates its a really great tube.

This is a continuation of http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=492619.

Attached are the schematics. I’d like some feedback on the circuit design. Is there some dumb thing I’ve done that if changed will improve the design? Is there anything missing that would greatly improve the sound or performance? Fire away with your comments.

After I get feedback on the circuit design, I plan to document the build on this same thread with a parts list and pictures as I progress through it. It’ll take a while (2 or 3 months) but I think it will be a good thing to share in the public forum. I hope tubes never die, and I’m doing my part to ensure that they don’t.

I’d love someone else to try this build also. It’s not exactly a beginner build, but you’ll have a great sounding high performance amp when you’re finished.

===========

Here’s the circuit description and design notes for those who are curious: (warning, the rest of this is kinda long)

One thing you should know is that I’m only showing one channel for the audio frequency amplifier (schematic page 1), so you’ll need to build page 1 of the schematic twice for stereo. The rest of the circuitry (schematic pages 2 and 3) are sized and shown as-is for two channels.