Learning to Recap / Restore Vintage Receivers

Treker

Over the past year or so that I have been into collecting vintage audio gear as a hobby, I have been thinking about what it would take to learn how to recap and restore some of the vintage receivers I have acquired.

Now, I don’t have any background or experience in electronics per se, but I am a fairly intelligent person and feel I could learn how to do it myself. I am also very mechanically inclined, so I am not afraid to dig into this stuff. I have been building and repairing things since I was a kid, with most of my most recent experience being in the area of building radio controlled model airplanes. I also have already completed a re-lamp and DeOxit treatment of my Marantz 2238B receiver that turned out well.

I am certain there are people here on AudioKarma that are self-taught, as well as people who learned about electronics repair either in a school of some sort or in a professional setting. What I am interested in doing is learning from your combined knowledge and experience and learning how to do this type of work for myself. I love to learn new things, as I find the challenge fun, and I find great pleasure in mastering a new skill or area of knowledge. Seeing the finished product and knowing that it is the result of your handiwork is also a great source of pleasure.

What I am really wondering is just what the best way to go about doing this is. I have looked around the AudioKarma web site for a tutorial on recapping, (maybe I haven’t looked hard enough) but so far I have not found one. Does anyone know of either on online tutorial, or possibly a good book on basic electronics repair? What I am looking for (I think) is something to help me learn the basic skills I will need to complete a recap / restoration of a vintage solid state receiver.

Here are some of my thoughts on how I plan to proceed: