Life Hacks. Which unconventional solutions have you found to life's little problems

Alobar

Addicted Member
This can be audio, or not. Looking for any unconventional solution to an issue where the "accepted" method was either unpractical, too expensive, doesn't work well etc.

This thread could provide ideas to help those who are stumped by some problem, sort of an idea sounding board. Asking for solution to problems is within this thread too. I seem to do this quite a lot. Sit and invent something to do a project, or solve an issue that either doesn't have a ready made one, or if it does, is too expensive etc.

I'll start out with this one. (I have many more)

While I am no doctor, I found that the standard fix for sleep apnea I was diagnosed with 10 years ago was not working very well. I had gone through the sleep clinic where all the wires are connected and you are monitored while sleeping. Afterwards I was prescribed with a $2000 C-Pap machine with the pressurized mask in order to get to a sleep state I was never getting to before.

Well the machine worked, and about every 3rd night I managed to keep all the parts together and on my face throughout the night. Problem was most nights I seemed to want to get rid of the uncomfortable mask in my sleep and after that I was back to starving for air etc.

Then there was the issue of always needing to be near a 110V supply. I sometimes like to camp. Go out for overnight trips in the boat, or take off in the camper. Having this machine made it if not impossible, at least impractical. I suffered with the C-Pap for several years...