Listening with my ears - and figuring stuff out...

Two Steps

IMG_2502.JPG

Hey all!

This post is just an effort for me to process through some stuff and share my thoughts. I am 31 and a newby to the whole hifi thing. I wasn't around during the hey day of audio, so I'm just learning and listening as I go; using this forum as a barometer of sorts.

I've been running a Marantz 2230 as a pre with a McIntosh MC250 as a power amp, through a pair of Klipsch Quartets.

In my bedroom I have a Sansui 661 powering a pair of EPI 100's.

All electronics have been refreshed and the 100's have been re-capped and foamed. All audio comes from Spotify Premium through Chromecast audio.

What's interesting is, like em or hate em, the big ol' horn loaded 3-way w/ passive radiator Klipsch's are 'supposed to' be a superior speaker than the oldy but goody 2 way acoustic suspension EPI, but I've found the EPI sounds clearer and more realistic. I always hear guys say horns sound 'honky' like you've cupped your hands around your mouth, but out of context, it's hard to tell. When playing the same content through both speakers back to back, the difference is night and day. The Quartets sound fantastic with today's pop music and more electronic stuff, but really sound congested in the mids and vocals suffer on sweeter music such as jazz and singer songwriter stuff. Also, as prefaced, the vocals sound like they are in a tunnel when directly comparing them to the EPI's. Not a dig, just an observation while directly comparing the two. It wasn't noticeable when playing with no other reference point.

Also interesting is the electronics side for me. Again, on paper the 2230 and MC250 is supposed to be the bee's knees. But the synergy between the EPI's and the Sansui is something special for me.