Lots of questions about my cheap 5.1 system

boccaccioe

Hi!

I am a college student who is pretty new to stereo equipment and I was wondering how to maximize the audio quality of my really budget system. I got the speakers and subwoofer on ebay for about $60 including shipping and the stereo receiver is one that was sitting in a friend's closet unused (full setup listed below).

This being my first 5.1 system, are there specific settings I should use in order to optimize my receiver for my room and setup (as in room size settings, sound profile, bass and treble balance, etc.)? I was also wondering if the dirt-cheap 24-gauge wire that I used could negatively affect sound quality. Is it okay to keep the subwoofer on all the time or should I turn it off whenever I'm finished? Any general feedback and advice would also be super helpful.

I have attached photos, including one of the dimensions of the room (small). The acoustic panels on the far wall are not part of the system, they're there to try and drown out noise from the guy next door because the walls here are paper thin. The rabbit ears are there to try and get better radio reception, which sort of worked (I don't need them for the TV because I'm on university cable). Before you ask, yes the speakers are indeed mounted with command hooks because nails are not allowed here.

Thanks so much for any help and for reading this mess!

Setup:
Speakers: KLH HTA4100SAT
Subwoofer: KLH Bassbite III
https://www.amazon.com/HTA-4100-Sur...6O5TA/ref=cm_cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_w9EzCb3N2X8ST
Receiver: Yamaha HTR-5930
Speaker Wire: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000N7FQD6/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_w9EzCb3N2X8ST

TL;DR: Wondering how to get max sound quality with current setup