Lyle Lovett

Lucifigus

I am quite new to modern high fidelity. I am a gray haired curmudgeon whose music was centered on the early 60s to the mid 80s. I had a brother ten years my senior who exposed me to pop music when I was very young. When I was in my late 20s I enjoyed pretty fine music with moderately high end gear, with over 1200 titles in vinyl and CDs. Over the years, many moves and other issues all got in the way of the dedicated pursuit of high end music. Recently I took the plunge and run FLAC files from JRiver to a NAD D 1050 though an Woo Audio WA2, with upgraded tubes, into Beyer T1.2s. It’s difficult to describe the personal involvement and sense of immersion with this music system compared to my previous experiences. It’s a pretty damn fine bliss point for me, and I have a jeezly big grin on these days.

I recently ripped my Lyle Lovett collection of CDs; standard red book quality. There are many discussions about up-sampling, and the distinct quality differences from more detailed source. This all may be true, but the overall quality of Lovett’s albums shows through. His work is very well recorded and produced; great instrumentation and fabulous arrangements – sometimes instruments are introduced two minutes into a song. It leans acoustic, but his use of horns is pretty well done. All of this is supporting fabulous songwriting and vocal. If you’re looking for well done, enjoyable acoustic music to delight in high fidelity, it’s hard to beat the consistency of Lyle.

Lyle Lovett & Vince Gill are coming to town (San Jose) on March 28th. Should be an awesome show. Good stuff.

Joshua Judges Ruth is exceptional audiophile stuff -
but he has a LOT of great sounding music, and puts on a fun show!
Seen him sharing the billing with kdlang twice ...

He's touring our area again this summer with the Large Band

Last edited: