MA5100 And MC250 Question

BirdLives

McIntosh newbie here...

Was thrilled to find a pristine MA5100 preamp/amplifier at a local estate sale; it appears to have low hours on it and may have, based on the unbelievable condition of it, spent the last 30 years in a box. It's now at the local authorized McIntosh dealer being brought back to "daily driver" condition.

I have a lead on a great MC250 and really want to try to use them together, but the MA5100 has no preamp out/in inputs so I've been told they cannot be connected and used together; is that true? Sorry if I've stated this poorly, but am confused on how to proceed...

Thanks very much...

MC 250 only gains you autoformers and a bit higher current. Use some nice efficient speakers and keep the load easy. It will delight you with a pair of Dynaco A 25 or a nice pair of Klipsch heritage any model.

McIntosh newbie here...

Was thrilled to find a pristine MA5100 preamp/amplifier at a local estate sale; it appears to have low hours on it and may have, based on the unbelievable condition of it, spent the last 30 years in a box. It's now at the local authorized McIntosh dealer being brought back to "daily driver" condition.

I have a lead on a great MC250 and really want to try to use them together, but the MA5100 has no preamp out/in inputs so I've been told they cannot be connected and used together; is that true? Sorry if I've stated this poorly, but am confused on how to proceed...

Thanks very much...

The headphone output of the MA5100 may be used to feed the MC250. You need a stereo adapter cable 1/4" pin to male RCAs to make these connections.

The MC250's GAIN controls allow up to 30 V input to be used without overloading the amplifier inputs.

Last edited:
The headphone output of the MA5100 may be used to feed the MC250. You need a stereo adapter cable 1/4" pin to male RCAs to make these connections.

The MC250's GAIN controls allow 0.5 V to 30 V input to be used without overloading the amplifier inputs.