Mac 1700 Receiver Volume Levels Very Different Aux Input vs. FM Tuner

rustnrot

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I'm new to this Mac 1700 Receiver. The FM works great and so does the Aux Input it seems. However, I would guess there is 20db of volume difference between the 2 sources. I have connected both a CD player line output as well as my computer to the aux input with the same results. Also, this is not to be confused with the volume control tracking problems as it has to do with the relative output of volume coming from the speakers when switched between the two sources.

I know it is not uncommon to have different volume outputs between sources especially when comparing a built in FM tuner to an Aux input. However, this seems to be rather excessive. Sure it can be corrected with the volume control but it sure would be nice to have levels that are close.

Before I look into troubleshooting this, I was wondering if this is normal for this unit?

I'm new to this Mac 1700 Receiver. The FM works great and so does the Aux Input it seems. However, I would guess there is 20db of volume difference between the 2 sources. I have connected both a CD player line output as well as my computer to the aux input with the same results. Also, this is not to be confused with the volume control tracking problems as it has to do with the relative output of volume coming from the speakers when switched between the two sources.

I know it is not uncommon to have different volume outputs between sources especially when comparing a built in FM tuner to an Aux input. However, this seems to be rather excessive. Sure it can be corrected with the volume control but it sure would be nice to have levels that are close.

Before I look into troubleshooting this, I was wondering if this is normal for this unit?

I have the same issue with mine . I bought it this last September and use it in my bedroom system