Made the leap into seperates and not looking back, ordered a MC7270 and C34v

jeff spicoli

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
A few years ago I bought a MC2125 and C29. There was problems with the amp and I sold it as-is but kept the pre. I kinda had a bad experience and it left a bad taste in my mouth for a while.

On Wednesday I ordered a MC7270 and 34v from Audio Classics. It will arrive next week sometime on a pallet of all things!! I cannot wait! Its the second most expensive item I have ever bought except for my house.

My question is what do I need to get the most out of these two pieces? I want it to be special experience and I want to have everything I need (if I even need anything) beforehand and ready to go. Do I need new speaker wire? do I need better interconnects? This is my first time entering this world and I'm excited, scared, nervous, worried, etc, etc.

I talked to Steve at Audio Classics and he said I wouldn't need any special speaker wire, just the bare wire.....which I have been using for years. Would newer interconnects help the sound?

The MC7270 has screw style barrier strips. I typically install #6 fork terminals on the ends of the speaker wires for a positive, secure fit. Short of that, use whichever interconnects you're comfortable with.

FWIW, the MC7270 remains my all-time favorite bang for the buck McIntosh power amplifier. It has it all - looks, performance, and power.

About the only other thing you may want to have on hand would be a tall glass of your favorite beverage. Enjoy!

I'll be trying the combo with many types of speakers with one pair being Altec Valencia 846a which are 16ohms. Since the amp isn't rated for 16ohms, is there a problem hooking them up together?

I have a whole bunch of different speakers I want to try and eventually I will weed them out. I will try the pair with Klipschorns, AR3a's, ADS L1290, Klipsch KG4, KLH 5, KLH 33, NLA, OLA's, and JBL L88's to name just a few