Maggie 197 SQ? (vs Scott 222-d?)

concertfiend

Hi all, I have an eye on a Maggie console pull (6BQ5 SEP from what I understand). It looks to be rebuilt well, with 5 way binding posts, gold plated RCAs, and a volume knob. Apparently it has had some mods done to it too. It has some schematics and service paperwork provided. What I'm wondering is how good the sound quality is , and what I could expect from this amp. I have a Scott 222-D that I like quite a bit, how would this compare? I know it's about a third the power, but that's about it. The Scott is 7189 based. I'm new to tubes and curious about what difference a SE amp would bring, though I know theres a varying degree of them. Any info is appreciated!
Thank you

Realistically, you are just going to have to find one, listen to it, and compare them to one another. :bye:

Everybody's ears are different and you will soon discover that there are thousands of combinations of SE and push/pull amps and speakers that work well with each other. For the SE amps, you are going to need very efficient speakers. Now the fun starts. :thumbsup:

Took me 10 years to find my right combo and its hasn't changed in 4 years and its not going to. :music:

Realistically, you are just going to have to find one, listen to it, and compare them to one another. :bye:

Everybody's ears are different and you will soon discover that there are thousands of combinations of SE and push/pull amps and speakers that work well with each other. For the SE amps, you are going to need very efficient speakers. Now the fun starts. :thumbsup:

Took me 10 years to find my right combo and its hasn't changed in 4 years and its not going to. :music: