Marantz 1530 running hot.

jrdrbtbrr

Hi all,

I'm hoping I can get some help with this, as I've looked online and at my .pdf of the service manual and I'm still pretty unsure of myself. So, I picked up a Marantz 1530 from a local seller and it sounds great. Cleaned the whole thing with deoxit and everything. Now, when I leave the unit on for awhile, it gets pretty damn hot. The heatsink on the power amp board (P700) is hot and I can only touch it for about 1-2 seconds. There is a black burn spot on the underside of the metal case (directly above where the heatsink is). It also smells pretty bad and seemed to get kind of smokey when I had my speakers connected to it (didn't realize there was an issue until after I had my speakers hooked up). I got lucky that I didn't burn them out.

I know I need to check the DC-offset and then the bias of the unit. But, I'm very new to this and honestly I don't want to fry anything. Is this something a novice can do? And, if I need to tweak these, should I do it or have it sent to a tech? I'm picking up a voltmeter tomorrow to have a look, but any help is appreciated. Including explaining where to affix the voltmeter on the board and such. Hopefully someone else here has done this on their 1530!

See the small heatsink with a single transistor mounted to it, in the corner of the main PCB? That thing gets hot a as a mainiac. I recommend replacing it, or at least giving it a clean up and new thermal compound (the original should have turned to something like ash by now). New mica insulator might be nice, too.

The real culprit however is the big 150 ohm resistor right next to that. It gets SUPER hot, and REALLY stinky to boot (it probably produces some degree of smoke).

It MUST be replaced - with a 3W metal oxide resistor, or a 5W ceramic resistor. It dissipates almost 3W during normal use, so it needs to be one of these (or higher). The service manual specifies a 5W resistor, but 3W is what's actually used.