Marantz 2220B Restoration. Follow Along!

basil13

Marantz 2220B Restoration. Follow Along

lHi All,

I recently posted seeking recommendations and clarifications on my Marantz 2220B restoration project and thought I would invite you to watch my journey.

A bit of a background on me and the receiver. I am an electronics technician who graduated from Fanshawe College in London, Ontario, Canada in 1992. I have worked in the telecom and office equipment industries as a technician but never in consumer electronics. Home audio is an interest that directed me towards studying electronics in college, and my interest never stopped. More recently, I developed in interest in restoration of vintage gear as a hobby. My first project was a few years ago, when I returned to life a Pioneer SX-1080 (not the easiest to start with) with some assistance from the Pioneer forum.

Since then I have accumulated a large collection of vintage gear working and not. I am returning to the site with the 2220B since it is a piece that has easier access to the boards and simpler circuit design. As I gain more confidence, I will tackle the bigger boys.

The 2220B is in good working condition, but tired looking. My before pics are not the best because I didn't decide to start this thread until I already begun the work.

I always enjoy watching the restoration process of others, so I thought I would share this one (and soon many more) with the site members.

Attached are some initial pics and will post more today with my parts list. I would like to place an order with Mouser early this week, and would appreciate any feedback on the parts selection, tips, and recommendations.

So welcome and enjoy the thread! I am looking forward to your input and comments!

Attachments

• IMG_5651.jpg
    IMG_5651.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 360
  • IMG_5664.jpg
    IMG_5664.jpg
    87.3 KB · Views: 354
  • IMG_5663.jpg
    IMG_5663.jpg
    87.4 KB · Views: 329
  • IMG_5665.jpg
    IMG_5665.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 326