Marantz 2238B: Sound will occasionally stop playing out of one speaker

Berkbelts

So I am totally new to this. My dad recently let me have his vintage Marantz 2238B that had just been sitting unused for maybe 12 years. I decided I'd use it for my TV setup. Currently I have it hooked up to some Polk T15s. I think it did it right when trying to figure out what speakers would work with the Marantz without putting too much strain on either the receiver or the speakers, like I said this whole audio thing is new to me.

Anyways the speakers sound great, when they both work. They'll be playing fine and then suddenly one speaker will stop playing audio, maybe with the occasional static when there's a high note. Lately its been the right speaker but previously it was the left. I've found it kinda fixes itself while playing something loud (Metal Music). It might actually be droping audio when it's quiet.

I have the Maratnz hooked up to my TV through an RCA to the aux input on the back. I thought the problem was the aux cable/ input as it seemed to be fine when I switched to radio, but now I'm not sure. I replaced the RCA and the problem returned. I've tried the tape input and that eventually gave the same problem.

Thanks for any help.