Marantz 2275 no sound

sweetspott

Hello all! I'm a newbie here and novice to vintage HI-FI gear! I would like to get some input on an issue I'm having with my Marantz 2275.It's was purchased new by my dad back in the day.

Unit worked fine till last week! It powers on now and lites up,but no sound! I have taken the cover off and noticed 2 fried/melted diodes on the power supply board(p800 board according to the service manual) The location of the 2 diodes on the board are h808 & h811. Is this the cause of some other issue in the receiver or do I look to find & replace just these 2 diodes? Or do I just look for a complete board to swap out...can this board be overhauled? Any help would be appreciated

Attachments

• 000GTA4 051.jpg
    000GTA4 051.jpg
    142.6 KB · Views: 93
  • 000GTA4 056.jpg
    000GTA4 056.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 87
Last edited:
All of a sudden no sound or prior problems like scratchy volume control, noise or static? You can replace the diodes or the whole board if that's all that was damaged. I'd trace the reason why the diodes cooked first.
Welcome to AK

Thanks for your reply and welcome to AK!

Yeah..it was working fine prior to this issue! The last time I turn it on there was hum with the volume off for about 30secs,there was no sound at this point! The hum stopped and I got a wiff of the diode melting! It now lights up,but thats it!

I assumed the diodes cooked as a result of primary issue! I have no knowledge of how to trace this problem. If it was a board to replace maybe I'd try that myself,but I doubt I can find a board. Maybe I can send this board out for an overhaul?? Is there any chance the diodes cooked as a result of another bad part on the same pc800 board? I was looking for a similar issue in other posts,and someone mentioned a hum with the volume off as a result of the 2 big filter caps near the power supply. That unit was stated to still have sound though!