Marantz Imperial 6

CopperWizard

Hello all! I am new to AudioKarma and have enjoyed reading the content here as many a search has led me here. I started my audio addiction a few months back while perusing the second hand stores for speakers to build a surround sound system. One day I walked into a Goodwill and there sat a pair of old speakers that reminded me of my college day Advents. I got them home and plugged them into my surround reciever, put it on stereo, and that is when the obsession really started. The speakers are a pair of mint condition Marantz Imperial 6 with cool retro cloth fronts. After doing some research and a lot of listening I have ditched the surround stuff but I really like the low end punch that the subwoofer adds. I have my eye on a Sanaui 3300 in a local pawn shop but I wonder if the Subwoofer I have, a JBL 135 200 will still do the trick as it has its speaker connections labeled high level. I cant find any online info on this sub as to its crossover for the high level. Does anyone have any recommendations about a good option for an old reciever and or sub to compliment the Imperial 6's. The newer reciever I want to ditch if you catch my drift. :music:

I have my eye on a Sanaui 3300 in a local pawn shop but I wonder if the Subwoofer I have, a JBL 135 200 will still do the trick as it has its speaker connections labeled high level. I cant find any online info on this sub as to its crossover for the high level. Does anyone have any recommendations about a good option for an old reciever and or sub to compliment the Imperial 6's. The newer reciever I want to ditch if you catch my drift. :music:

:lurk:

A good friend of mine has a pair of Marantz Imperial 6. They are amazing speakers. I have been looking for a pair for years. IMHO what you "need to ditch" is the subwoofer. Find a nice vintage receiver and enjoy.

The Imperial 6 benefit from a old sock stuffed in the port. Crisp bass not fuzzy, well IMHO anyway.