Marvin Gaye's Relatives Prevail over Pharrell Williams and Robin Thicke

finnbow

The Dude Abides
A federal jury found Tuesday that the 2013 hit song "Blurred Lines" infringed on the Marvin Gaye chart-topper "Got to Give It Up," awarding nearly $7.4 million to Gaye's children.
Jurors found against singer-songwriters Pharrell Williams and Robin Thicke, but held harmless the record company and rapper T.I.
The verdict capped a trial that lasted more than a week and focused on the similarities between the song and the legendary soul singer's 1977 hit.

http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/...s-copyright-trial-verdict-20150310-story.html

These cases are always interesting. All (or most) music is derivative, but there is a fuzzy line between that and copying.

I think Robin Thicke et al kind of took the song and made it their own. I'm not a lawyer though, so maybe I shouldn't comment.

Lee.

What's always puzzled me is sampling.
If you do the same thing in Literature it can be considered plagiarism.

Im a musician and I have to play both these songs in the clubs . I don't hear it . I had no idea that there was a lawsuit over this . Wow .
Rudy .

Mixed feelings and memories does this thread conjure. In little more than three weeks from today will be the 76th anniversary of Marvin's birth and -- one day earlier -- the 31st anniversary of his untimely and sudden death. What a day.

There are some similarities between the songs (cow bells and party chants) but I know Marvins song well and dont see the melodies being that similar.
Maybe Lady Gaga, Beyonce, Katy Perry, Rihana, and Sia should all be suing each other because I cant tell one from the other unless I'm told which is which. Same for all the current country artists.

I thought it was very obvious when I first heard Blurred Lines that it was Marvin's song...

That said, Marvin should be the only one who should get paid for it, not the sperm lucky offspring.