mc 2500

gareth

hey there just wanted a to say hello im new to the mac forum but wanted to know what this amp sounds like, i have a chance to pick one up for what seems a reasonable price and was wondering what it sounded like, unfortunately i dont have the chance to listen to it before hand!! As i am on holiday at the moment but the guy is desperate to sell it as he needs the money so i get a good deal.

I am going to use it in a room that is 32ft by 27 feet with 8 ft cielings. What speakers sound good with these?? My music room is dedicated so i have no probs with getting large magnepans in there or similar?

But what i really want to know is if this amps rating of 2x500w is realistic:dunno: :jawdrop:
regards gareth

Actually, no. The real output at spec is probably 20 - 25% more. Mc tends to under rate the output spec.

As for speakers - it will depend on musical tastes, desired SPL, you personal prefererence in sound. Would not suggest a Lowther with the amp. Also, a bit much for horns in terms of power. Also, electrostatics - watch closely the power ratings as not to fry them.

The amp uses the autoformer and is less speaker sensitive than most SS amps.

thanx brian, so this will reallistically pressurize my room then!!!

:D :D :D :D

I will have to find a nice set of speakers over the coming weeks to be able to handle this beast! I have just finished looking at the specs and it seems that it was niceley over-engineered!! Always a good point.

My musical tastes vary quite a bit but i do like a bit of drum and bass now and then.

The 2500 is the replacement for the 2300, only weighs 4 pounds more, does have power guard, it will be fairly warm sounding, not quite tube sounding but definatly the warmth of autoformers. Just get speakers that can handle of about 540 rms with peaks at 1000 watts per channel.