MC 754

welcomdmat

I have been lucky enough to buy a pair of MC754s that were very recently serviced by Audio Classics. I plan to use them in their mono setting, but I have never done this before.

Do I need to concern myself with the length of speaker wire, the length of the RCAs, or anything else that I don’t know about?

They were both serviced at the same time/ the same trip.

Last edited:
My RCAs will be under 3 ft and my speakers will be about 4 and 8 ft if I put the amplifiers on either side of my preamp.

Part of this is just being new to me. I was able to get them only open from Audio Classics for photographs that I requested, and I am very excited. I think the excitement has me worried about proper setup.

If those were the ones recently listed on the auction site, they appeared to be in outstanding condition.

Best of luck with them.

Do I need to concern myself with the length of speaker wire, the length of the RCAs, or anything else that I don’t know about?

Don't worry about slight differences in speaker cable lengths...a foot here and there is not going to matter. Unless you need a really....really...long run of RCA interconnects, there are no worries there. I have a 15' run of Canare cables between my C15 and MC752....zero issues or problems and it sounds great. I believe in shorter speaker cables and longer interconnections, it also also me to have my rack on the side of the room and my amps on the floor between the speakers. Just use appropriate gauge cables with good terminations and all will be fine.

One of the few "sleeper" Mc amps, still available for less than $10/watt! I didn't know that they could be strapped for mono...

Yes. The 754 has a switch on the rear to allow the user to select stereo or mono. The 752 did not have that feature.