McIntosh 2125 in the house, and I need advice.

dobyman

Turntable Addict
OK the 2125 is in the house, so I will have questions and I hope everyone here will be willing to help me. First question, ( and I have to be honest, some of these will sound stupid because I am still a newbie) but here goes. I have bad caps on the power board and I am wondering if that ribbon just unplugs at the board so I can completely remove it? And I want to do the LEDs in the meters, and have heard horror stories about how brittle the meter housings are. Should I just break one of the tabs off to release the lamp holders, or do I try and bend them back?
Thanks in advance for any help, and I promise I will have plenty more! :thumbsup:

Thanks John James, but I actually read that post about 5 times, and I even asked this question at the end of it, but damacman said I should start a new thread because my question would get lost since its already 8 pages into the thread. That's why I started this one.
Moewillis posted great pics, but he never showed the board without the ribbon, that's why I asked if it is removable. And someone had already broken off his tabs on the meters, and I wanted to know if this was the best option when changing the meter lamps.
I also sent a PM to moewillis to ask where he got those 2200mfd16v caps in axial. All I can find are radial caps.
Like I said, I'm a newbie to a lot of these things, but I want to learn, and I need help.

The meter housings are so brittle they will break if you look at them wrong.....Back in the day DOB would plunge them with a hot soldering iron to give them some venting from the lamp heat.

I have used a micro file, solder tip and model car type razor saw to remove the tabs holding the light boards......razor saw was best. Then used masking tape to resecure.