McIntosh 40

Cosmic Chaz

Cosmic Charlie
Greetings,

I now own a pair of MC-40 amps. I have not powered these up, I have no tubes and I am new to the world of tubes and McIntosh. Any guidance on what my next steps could be, is welcome. I am doing a simple clean first, then I will open them and post what I find.

Good first step. Some of the armchair bench techs (some of whom were Mac clinic and ace techs) should help you assess the condition of the electronics. You have a fine set of amps there. Fully restored, they can be made to sing like the day they came out of the box.

Cheers,

David

Thanks John, you can imagine how exciting this is for a complete novice. I am going to move on to the second amp and research what to do!

My advice is to replace all the caps under there. The can caps need to go, as they are well past their effective date. The cardboard axials and the little silver ones need to go too. The striped black ones are known as bumblebees, and have a reputation for failing--every single one in my 3 Old macs was cracked. The black ones with red writing are black beauties, and guitar amp people claim they sound really good; I don't trust them and replace them myself. The can caps, there are three manufacturers: authenticaps in Germany, ce available at aes, and hayseed hamfest. The cardboard axial you can probably use illinois or any other electrolytic. The other axial caps, pick your favorite, from budget illinois all the way up to the ultra high end.

Also check out the rectifier to see what kind and condition it is in.

Hey
Unless your handy, my advice is to have an expert do the restore.
If you can afford McIntosh tube amps I'm pretty sure you can dig a little deeper and make these life time keepers.
Just my .02. Eric

100_1371[1].JPG
The second MC 40 appears to be a bit different, different components possibly a different vintage?