Mcintosh vs Modded Hafler

as16450

I have a dilemma and would like some input from those more knowledgeable than me. I have inherited a McIntosh MC2250 amp. Here is my dilemma I currently have a Hafler XL-600 that has the Musical Concepts upgraded boards in it. It is connected to a Mcintosh MX-117 pre-tuner that Terry Dewick has gone through. The system fills my needs. The 2250 is less wattage but would satisfy what I listen to as the Hafler has rarely gone above half volume. The 2250 has not gone to the shop for any repairs that I am aware of. Question for the group will the 2250 sound better than the modded Hafler? I won’t be keeping both. The 2250 is commanding $2,500 on EBay now The Hafler less than half that even with the mods. Does anyone have input as to the sound differences I can expect? I have not pricked up the 2250 yet so I can’t do a comparisons. I am just beginning the thought process. Thanks in advance for any and all input.

Andrew

The Musical concepts mods usually make the Haflers giant equallers. I don't think of the Mc2250 as a giant, but a nice higher powered McIntosh. Seems you have both amps and should listen to them and decide. I think the Hafler might win that competition if it is all in good shape but I don't know the McIntosh sound of the mid-80s. I have Hafler amps, smaller, not modded but use a more modern highly regarded amp, a McCormack.

Sure the McIntosh would need a rebuild to be all up to it best but I think you can get an idea of its sound quality even though some parts may need to be replaced. Then you can decide which you like with your speakers. The speakers may have a very big impact on the results of this test.

I don't know the answer to the specific question and I think I would have to hear both to decide. Since you will be listening let us know what you hear.