McIntosh XL-1 Crossover Help

zymaze

I picked up a pair of McIntosh XL-1's the other day that truly need some TLC. The bass drivers need refoaming which does not seem like it will be an issue unless anyone's got any advice that is unique to these drivers. My question is on the possible recapping of the crossovers. These speakers were made from 1983-92, so they are possibly 34 years old. Given the lifespan of many audio capacitors it seems like recapping might be in order. Does anyone have a schematic of these crossovers? I have looked online to no avail. Some of the capacitors also seem to have odd values (although I am far from an expert on these matters). Here is a picture of the crossover board. Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0687.JPG
    IMG_0687.JPG
    88.8 KB · Views: 54
Roger Russell McIntosh's decades long speaker designer had at his disposal a full size anechoic chamber, the latest B&K measurement tools and management OK to do his own thing. He did. The blue electrolytic is most likely a Zobel across the woofer. Just replace it and be done. Use a electrolytic and a film in parallel to get the value you need. The yellow mylars do not deteriorate.

I probably have a schematic from when I was a dealer and if I get the time I will check to confirm it is a Zobel. I am sure you could buy a schematic from Mac parts.

I probably have a schematic from when I was a dealer and if I get the time I will check to confirm it is a Zobel. I am sure you could buy a schematic from Mac parts.
I've never even heard of a Zobel. Is it a brand of capacitor or a unique type? If you have a schematic that would be great, thank for your time and expertise.

I would ditch the wet cap and use a 30uF film cap + 2 uF in parallel.

Mouser Part #: 80-C4GADUD5300AA3J would do it.

I am thinking doing a refresh on my LS340 boards but this one has a 330uF and that will be a problem.