Modern speakers for vintage receiver

Makis

Hello everyone
I have a Marantz 4400 with a pro-ject essential II turntable and a set of sony speakers. The receiver is going to be restored(recaped,cleaned etc) even though it seems to work fine so far. What would be a decent pair of speakers to pair this setup? The room is rather small(about 4*4m) and I can only look for bookself speakers. My options so far are Wharfedale(diamond 10.2),Klipsch(R-14),Dali zensor and Kef(C1 or C3). I mostly listen to rock and classic music. I am a newbie so I dont really get the numbers on the specs!
Am I in the right direction here? Please share your wisdom...

Your ears will tell you more than specs. I order a pair of Martin Logan LX16's/Motion 15's after auditioning them. Pretty amazing and you can get the LX16's for 500-550 US which is a great price for a speaker this nice. You can't find a bad review.

Hi Makis, and welcome to AK!

A couple of questions:
- How much do you want to spend on your speakers? Do you want to run two channel or four?
- Is there any reason you want to buy new speakers rather than used (classic) ones?

Your Marantz 4400 is a highly respected receiver and should work fine with practically any speaker, new or old.
Read what owners have to say about it:

https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/marantz/4400.shtml

How about some auditions of what others are using?

http://audiokarma.org/forums/index....-of-your-systems-lets-hear-and-see-it.782592/

GeeDeeEmm

Thank you for your replies!
@sanford12 :The Martin Logans dont seem to be available anywhere in my country(Greece).But I will look again in case I missed something.
@gdmoore28 :Ideally I would like to limit my budget to 300€.But if there is something really worth it,I could stretch it a little. For now I will only use the 2 channels.If at some point in the future I have the space and time,I would like to make a quadrophonic setup,just for the fun of it. So mainly,2 channels.