Motor for Realistic Lab 290??

kyrie59

Anyone know where to get a motor for a Lab 290?? Or maybe a kit to switch motors??
Thanks again!!
btw... just put a Audio Technica AT95e cartridge on to replace the stock Shure, and still in shock!! Who knew such a fine cartridge could be had for less than $75!! Even sounds good with the speed variations of the wore out motor!!
;)

Are you sure it's the motor? I'm no expert, but I see threads here dealing with capacitors etc controlling turntable motors. Just sayin'.

I should check it out... just assumed the motor is wore out, it's so old.
I hope some of the turntable experts will chime in here. I think it's unlikely the motor is bad, it could be something as easy as a few squirts of Deoxit on the controls or lube on the spindle. Old grease thickens and causes all kinds of trouble, too. Good luck with it.

Edit: I just did a bit of a search on the Lab 290 and it appears it is quite a good TT, made by either CEC or Rotel in the early 1980s. Belt drive, so it likely needs a new belt which I'm sure are available. Do a Google search, you'll find lots if info, including other threads on AK.

I love my Realistic tables, a Lab 400 and a Lab 390.

Last edited:
I hope some of the turntable experts will chime in here. I think it's unlikely the motor is bad, it could be something as easy as a few squirts of Deoxit on the controls or lube on the spindle. Old grease thickens and causes all kinds of trouble, too. Good luck with it.

Edit: I just did a bit if a search on the Lab 290 and it appears it is quite a good TT, made by either CEC or Rotel in the early 1980s. Belt drive, so it likely needs a new belt which I'm sure are available. Do a Google search, you'll find lots if info, including other threads on AK.

I love my Realistic tables, a Lab 400 and a Lab 390.