MT2 – Anybody has problems with hum?

kingstoneage

Hi,
i just recognized a hum coming from my new MT2 turntable! Anybody recognized this also? Have you any solutions to eliminate the hum?
I detected the hum decreases when i press with my fingers on the downside of the turntable. The hum is audible when the volume is high.
The hum comes from the speakers when the Phono–input is selected.
Thanks in advance for any replies!:beerchug:

Last edited:
Hi, my MT2 still suffers from hum......
My dealer connected the german distributor, who said there is an Upgradekit with a new headshell included. With the new headshell installed, the hum will disappear........
But the upgradekit isn‘t for free, i have to pay for it………………:eek:

Have anybody installed this upgradekit? Is there really a upgradekit which eliminates the hum problem?

I have no handson experience with the MT2 but do have 40 years experience setting up turntables.

There has always been certain cartridges and turntable susceptible to picking up noise and/ or have hum issues.

Have you tried redressing the cabling from the table making sure it is as far away from power cords as possible.....does moving them about change the hum?

I can find no close up picture of the headshell of the MT2.... But of what I can see it is not like any of the traditional headshells that have been standards for decades.

Back in the day we did find that under certain circumstances non metal headshells could not be used with certain cartridges, conductive plastics would work but non conductive ones caused issues especially when the owner would approach the live cartridge with their hand.

The MT2 is supplied with it's own HO MC cartridge so that's unlikely to be the culprit.

It's difficult to believe a dealer isn't making a bee-line to home of the buyer of a new MA9000 and MT2. Piss poor service. :thumbsdown: