MX112 Phono input inferior to FM channel?

Im very new to hifi so please forgive my ignorance. A friend lent me an MX112 preamp, I’m playing it through an MC58 in bridged mode. The FM sounds beautiful, warmth with detail, but the Phono sounds inferior, much less bass and a sterile sound generally.

I figure it could either be that my turntable just sounds inferior, or the phono channel is just not as boomy on the MX112, or maybe that channel is isn’t giving all it should?

These units aren’t an area of experience or expertise for me so any input is appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

Your previous posts in the turntable forum seem to indicate issues with your turntable setup. Did you ever confirm that your table is setup correctly?

Thanks for responding, I have been doing a lot of experimenting with different cartridges and setups and the AR XA sounds pretty great through an old Realistic 33-1057a preamp.

The Realistic has a lot more noise but it’s real punchy and fun, I’m sorta wondering if the phono channel on the MX112 is in a weakened state, or if it’s just the nature of that unit.

The reason I posted the question was to see if people generally get as good of a tone from their phono channel, I’m which case I’d direct my attention to my turntable first and then get the preamp looked at to see if there was something compromised in the phono channel.

If you’re pretty familiar with the MX112 preamp, would you say this is a common issue or no?

Too many unknowns here in order to make any firm pronouncements. Given the age of the MX112 there's every possibility it needs some servicing. Generally speaking, it is not uncommon for there to be more gain with the tuner input compared with most phono stages. McIntosh tuners especially seem to have very robust audio outputs.

I use an A/T 440 MLa cartridge with my MX113 (whose preamp section is similar) and together they perform very well. But I will also say that it can't compare to FM listening through the MX113!