My first tube amp.. Magnavox 8802

Morrism

I found a console local on CL for $60. It was beat up pretty bad so I did not save the cabinet. Reading the many threads here, I was able to restore it. It's working great.
I copied MIL_Q's idea and used the grill cloth for the front panel.

Attachments

• Mag amp top.jpg
    Mag amp top.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 195
  • Mag8802_done.jpg
    Mag8802_done.jpg
    240.7 KB · Views: 249
great looking resto job.
did one myself some time back but not quite as pretty as yours.
good work.

I'm thinking of adding volume control. I made a drawing how I think it should be installed.
Does this look right?
Is there any cons to doing this? No audio degradation?

Attachments

• volume pot mod.jpg
    volume pot mod.jpg
    78.6 KB · Views: 103
Nice job on your first post. Welcome to AK! Obviously this isn't your first rodeo. As for the volume pot, I'm not an expert on variable resistors, but I'm thinking you can make do without the 47K resistor....

Great job! Unfortunately I'll have to hire out to have mine restored. Let us know how yours sounds and what speakers its paired with.

cubdog

Nice job on your first post. Welcome to AK! Obviously this isn't your first rodeo. As for the volume pot, I'm not an expert on variable resistors, but I'm thinking you can make do without the 47K resistor....

Thanks for the welcome. I know a little electronics(no degree), but when I started this project, I knew nothing about tubes. Now I know a very little about tubes.

Great job! Unfortunately I'll have to hire out to have mine restored. Let us know how yours sounds and what speakers its paired with.

cubdog

I have it playing right now. The speakers are Infinity RS2001 rated 89db and 6ohms. It gets loud, but not so much it's going to hurt my ears. It sounds great! I was surprised.:bigok:

that vol control will work ok. try it with and without the 47K and see which is better.
cliplead it in to try. or put it in and then short it with a cliplead.