My Macs...

Walter R

I’m a 67 yo retired engineer living in Chicago. My music interests range from symphonic classical music to classic rock.

My living room system consists of two MC275’s, each operating in bridged mode for 150w per channel. One’s a MkIV, the other is a MkV. They’re driving a pair of Thiel CS-1.6’s. The preamp is a McIntosh MC220, and I also have an MR85 tuner. Also connected are a Technics turntable, a SONY 300 disk CD changer, and a Grace Digital internet tuner. I recently added a cheap Amazon Bluetooth adapter that lets me play my extensive MP3 collection from a Windows computer. If anyone has a better solution, let me know. The MP3’s are on a Synology NAS. I use an auto-sensing power strip to turn on the MC275’s when the remote turns on the C220.

I also have an ARX SP-60 30-channel equalizer. I’ve used the Dayton Audio audio analyzer program with calibrated microphone to adjust for room acoustics, which mostly consists of suppressing bass tones that resonate in the room. I’d be interested in comments as to whether the equalizer introduces more distortion than it’s worth. Supposedly the equalizer circuit is removed from the audio circuit if the control is set to zero.

I recently dusted off 2 EICO HF-20’s that I’ve owned for 15 years and set them up for a bedroom tube system. A filter cap just failed and I’m waiting for a replacement. It sounded good while it was working.

Walter R

I recently added a cheap Amazon Bluetooth adapter that lets me play my extensive MP3 collection from a Windows computer. If anyone has a better solution, let me know.