My Teenage Son and My Rotel RX-950AX

seventy1

Well, a couple of weeks ago, my son had some buddys over and they hung out in the basement playing video games and pool. He had his iPhone plugged into my RX-950AX receiver through a mini plug / RCA cable, bass cranked all the way and played rap at high volume. I'm fine with him using the gear and I assumed that the Rotel would be smart enough to protect itself.

When I next went to use it, the left channel was out and the right sounded like poop. I took the cover off, visually inspected and checked the fuses. The only thing I saw that was obvious was some apparent leaking from the two main and three larger caps. I'm not an electronics expert, but I can use a multimeter, identify, solder and replace components. Is it worth trying to source and replace these caps? Other things I should check? This is a well thought of 50 wpc receiver that I'd like to save if it doesn't cost an arm and a leg. I appreciate any input!

Attachments

• IMG_7616.jpg
    IMG_7616.jpg
    104.7 KB · Views: 148
  • IMG_7611.jpg
    IMG_7611.jpg
    72.5 KB · Views: 182
  • IMG_7613.jpg
    IMG_7613.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 123
  • IMG_7612.jpg
    IMG_7612.jpg
    109.9 KB · Views: 129
  • IMG_7614.jpg
    IMG_7614.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_7617.jpg
    IMG_7617.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 122
That looks like glue to me. If they leaked it would be a thinner substance. It's common to have filter caps glued to help stabilize them. Might try checking resistors close to see if they've been to hot and are discolored. Do you have a volt meter?

Last edited:
Are you sure the problem is the receiver and not the speakers? I would check dc offset at speaker terminals just do be sure. Hook meter to one side than the other. See if there is voltage there. Best is below 30mv. Check this with volume turned down and tone controls normal and loudness off. Does this unit have a speaker relay? If so can you hear it click?