My Vintage Yamaha Experience & Why I Recommend The Brand

Gary D Olson

Skilled Tightwad
I'd always considered myself a Marantz guy. Why? Because I drooled more heavily at their stuff when I was a kid in the 70's. I didn't own any Marantz gear until the past few years. I do like it, but it's mostly nostalgia. Looking back, I should have taken the "Yamaha Guy" moniker.

My first new dirt bike came Christmas 1974 (I was 13). It was a 1975 Yamaha MX125. I loved that bike.

In late 1985, after recording my second record as a professional musician, I bought my third and final drum kit - Yamaha's top-of-the-line Custom Recording Series with a true piano-finish (red). It destroyed any kit unfortunate enough to share a stage. Soundmen adored it and I loved playing it. I've since purchased other various Yamaha products as a musician, but never as an audiophile.

Then something happened a few years ago that got me turned on to vintage audio.

I stumbled across a CL ad for an early 80's Yamaha preamp with matching power amp and tuner. I don't recall the price but the seller was about 19 and wanted to meet at Starbuck's. I told him nobody will buy it without hearing it first. We met at his parent's house an hour later. Turns out his late uncle left it to him. He was in iPod guy and couldn't have cared less about the heavy gear. I had to connect the components myself because he didn't know how. Long story less long, I paid $190 for all three pieces because the tuner wouldn't power on and the left channel of the pre/poweramp didn't work. Btw, we're talking about the M70, C70, and T70.

I got home & pulled the top the tuner off. Four fuse holders inside were missing the fuses. His uncle must have taken them out and forgot to replace them. $1.50 later, the tuner was working beautifully. An oz of Deoxit later and the pre and power amps were working like new. This entire story happened in less than 2 hours, and my fire was lit!