mystery output transformer

Discussion in 'Fisher' started by merdy, Nov 5, 2017.

1. merdy

merdy New Member

Hello fisher heads ,maybe someone can help or point me in the right direction
    A while back while I was on a mission to buy as many opt as possible for amp building and geetars mods ,i brought this from a family whose dad was a big engineer at ibm labs,apparently he was very close with Avery fisher as well as herb kreoes,d hafler etc
    The transformer has the marking of t 588 115 089 ,I know that's not a fisher number it's ratio is 19:1 from a similar enquirer from the web
    It's burgundy similar to their 200 amp or maybe even the 70 ,its big and heavy and I have been hunting for one for over 15 years but no luck
    One of the pics shows it next to a arcosound 330
    About 10 years ago I saw a similar one on les Paul rig as I was restoring his speakers (altec)
    I asked him and he did not remember but said he brought it in an surplus store near Kingston newyork ,he said he frequented many yard sales and junk stores that were suppliers to ibm
    Any help appreciated

Attached Files:

2. rufleruf

rufleruf AK Subscriber Subscriber

It's the right color for a late 50's Fisher OPT.

3. dcgillespie

dcgillespie Fisher SA-100 Clone Subscriber

Merdy -- Welcome to the AK Fisher Forum. If I may, the information you have received is quite in error. From my own notes of various pieces of early Fisher equipment I have serviced, I can offer you the following:

1. Part number T 588-115 089 is in fact a Fisher part number, and was installed on their model 55-A, which was offered with 6550 output tubes.