NAD PreAmp 1155 need advice re ReCapping

cairns4me

Hi guys.... a mate bought a Denon DL 103R..then bought a NAD 1155 PreAmp.
Asked me to service it-so I did a DeOxit Red treatment to all switches, pots etc-all good upon test couple days later.
BUT tested it with his Dl103R cart , then fitted MY DL103R to confirm problem IS DEF' the NAD 1155 (as opposed to being faulty cart) and upper Mid delivery is forward and very "2D" imaging, with reserved highs and lower-mids sounded "very meh" and bass "very meh..."
So I think next step is a recap jobbie-all caps look to be original with about Four being Orange in colour; all others black & rated at 85 degrees...I think I would replace the blacks with 105 degree (reduced leak) variant caps-in interest of doing job ASAP for the Bud' I would prolly source caps from Jaycar.com.au.
BUT should the Orange caps be "audiophile quality" or sumthin'?
I am not an electronics techie by ANY means-my expertise doesn't go much further than soldering & basic use of multimeter. I have the NAD 1155 serv manual-cannot attach on here so IF YOU CAN advise me on this it would be terrific, let me know by Pvt Messg and I will email the Pdf to you. Thank you all so much, cheers guys.....

Hey there.

I would give Jaycar caps a WIDE berth - unless you want to use overpriced "Raysonic" or something brand.

Go to RS Online and get quality Panasonic or Nichicon caps - it will cost less, MUCH MUCH better product and free delivery.

On RS you can also order Nichicon "FG" series caps - these are ideal to replace the existing orange caps - great for audio/the signal path.

Reactions: mbz